IPL 2: Big Bash In Africa!

Posted in Cricket by No Comments

The second running of the Indian Premier League has begun with the first two matches of the tournament being played over night in the temporary host country of South Africa. Last years defending champions the Shane Warne led Rajasthan Royals were demolished in their first hit out against the Bangalore Royal Challengers, while in the other match the Tendulakar led the Mumbai Indians to victory over the Chennai Super Kings.

Shaun Tait Forced To Withdraw…By Cricket Australia

The major news out of the first match – apart from Warne’s team recording the lowest ever score in the short history of the tournament – was that Cricket Australia has forbidden Shaun Tait from playing for his club The Royals, ordering him to spend more time recovering from the hamstring tear he suffered in February.

Tait is said to be fairly upset with the verdict, not only losing the opportunity to prove his fitness ahead of the upcoming 20/20 world cup, but also forgoing the cool $500,000 he would have earned for a month and a bit worth of effort.

This is understandable but from my way of thinking it is a positive sign for Tait that CA is keen for him to be involved in more important fixtures coming up including a one day series against Pakistan, and the tour of England after that.

The news comes as a further blow to Warne’s team who will also be without last years player of the tournament, Shane Watson.

Who’s Playing For Who?

If you’re trying to figure out players are playing for which team….scan the teams below.

Bangalore Royal Challengers
Australian players: Cameron White, Nathan Bracken

Others: Anil Kumble, Kevin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher, Ross Taylor

Kolkata Knight Riders
Coach: John Buchanan (AUS)

Australian players: Brad Hodge, David Hussey, Mark Cameron, Moises HenriquesOthers

Others: Chris Gayle, Brendan McCullum, Ishant Sharma

Kings XI Punjab
Coach: Tom Moody (AUS)

Australian players: Brett Lee, Burt Cockley, James Hopes, Luke Pomersbach, Shaun Marsh, Simon Katich.

Others: Mahela Jayawardena, Yuvraj Singh, Kumar Sangakkara, Irfan Pathan

Chennai Super Kings
Australian players: George Bailey, Matthew Hayden.

Others: Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Andrew Flintoff, Albie Morkel, Muttiah Muralitharan

Delhi Daredevils
Coach: Greg Shipperd (AUS)

Australian players: Andrew McDonald, David Warner, Dirk Nannes, Glenn McGrath

Others: Virender Sehwag, AB DeVilliers, Paul Collingwood

Rajasthan Royals
Coach/captain: Shane Warne (AUS)

Australian players: Lee Carseldine, Robert Quiney, Shane Harwood.

Others: Graeme Smith, Morne Morkel

Mumbai Indians
Australian players: Luke Ronchi

Others: Sachin Tendulkar, Dwayne Bravo, Sanath Jayasuriya, Harbajhan Singh

Deccan Chargers

Coach: Darren Lehmann (AUS)

Australian players: Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Symonds, Ryan Harris.

Others: Chaminda Vaas, Fidel Edwards, Scott Styris, Herchelle Gibbs


If you’re looking for some betting action on the tournament over the coming weeks, sportsbetting has a wide range of options to choose from for each game including methods of dismissal, most sixes, highest opening partnership etc.

Click here now and you can also get a free bet of up to $100 with your initial deposit.

, , , ,

Comments are closed.